Automation Decisions in Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Automation in Microsoft Dynamics NAV is great. It allows us to access the functionality of other programs from within NAV. For instance, when you have a function to import from or export to Excel, chances are you’re using automation. It could be anything from interacting with your phone system software to dial a number to calling a web service to check the available stock that your supplier has.

Beautiful. When the RoleTailored Client wants to use some automation it asks the user what to do – good and security conscious as it is. The user will be prompted with a box something like the below.

image

Anyone spot the potential problem? The user is able to choose “Never allow”. They may find that something doesn’t work as expected / at all if they have prevented the automation from running. The solution?

image

Choose Delete Personalization Settings from the menu in the top right hand corner of the client. On the “Reset User-Specified Settings” window that opens you will find a “Reset Automation decisions” button.

Like it sounds, that will cause NAV to forget any previous decision the user has made regarding automation. Next time the client wants to use the same automation it will ask the above question again.

Note: This problem has been resolved in NAV 2009 R2. The “Never allow” option has been replaced with “Don’t allow this time, but ask next time”. The above screenshot was taken from NAV 2009 SP1.

The “Delete Personalization Settings” is a useful option. You can also reset any personalization changes that a user has made to pages – hiding and showing columns, reordering menu items etc.

The extent to which a user can personalize the client is one of the strengths of RTC, but it’s nice to know you can always back your changes out if things go pear-shaped!

Leave a Reply